Seaforth Hawks battle Trinity Bulldogs in 2A Wrestling Championship

Greensboro, NC – In the 2A Wrestling Championship, both Seaforth and Trinity were making their Dual Team Finals debut, and the Trinity Bulldogs earned the first Dual Team Championship in program history with a 36-31 win.

Seaforth high school is the first Chatham County 2A school to make it to the state wrestling championship. In 2005, Chatham Central under the leadership of Coach Little won the 1A dual team wrestling state championship.

Trinity earned three pins as Joseph Trahan at 285, Jaden Allred at 138, and Lawson Coltrane at 170 each picked up six points for the Bulldogs. Coltrane’s win, coming at 3:37, sealed the championship for Trinity as it gave the team a 36-13 lead. Coltrane was named MVP for that performance. The Bulldogs forfeited the final three matches to make the final score 36-31.

For the Hawks, Gabe Rogers, wrestling in the 106-pound class, earned a pin to level the match at 6-6 after Trahan’s opening pin. Seaforth won the next two matches, but Trinity took over from there, winning the next seven matches to take control.

Trinity finished the 23-24 Dual Team Season with a perfect 38-0 record, while Seaforth went 36-2 on the year.

Brayden Hall of Trinity and Gabe Rogers of Seaforth with NCHSAA Commissioner

The Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2024 Dual Team Wrestling Championship matches in 2A were Gabe Rogers of Seaforth and Brayden Hall of Trinity

285 – Joseph Trahan (Trinity) over Palmer Moad (Seaforth) Fall 0:47

106 – Gabe Rogers (Seaforth) over Aiden Burkholder (Trinity) Fall 1:04

113 – Jordan Miller (Seaforth) over Edgar Vasquez (Trinity) Dec 8-5

120 – Josh Miller (Seaforth) over Brayden Hall (Trinity) Maj 12-3

126 – Spencer May (Trinity) over Layne Armstrong (Seaforth) Dec 6-3

132 – Levi Dennis (Trinity) over Maddock Cody (Seaforth) Dec 8-4

138 – Jaden Allred (Trinity) over Noah Lisk (Seaforth) Fall 1:49

145 – Baron Justice (Trinity) over Caden Brewer (Seaforth) Dec 7-0

152 – Charles `Bear` Schaefer (Trinity) over William Bass (Seaforth) Dec 4-3

160 – Zane Schloemer (Trinity) over Pierson Moad (Seaforth) DQ 

170 – Lawson Coltrane (Trinity) over Alex Hinchman (Seaforth) Fall 3:37

182 – Judge Lloyd (Seaforth) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf 

195 – Harrison Compton (Seaforth) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf 

220 – Ethan Kuball (Seaforth) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf